Sage has been actively engaged with the open access debate from very early on. It is core to our culture and philosophy to be open to new, innovative developments in every sector we work in. Our approach to open access is fundamentally driven by the technological advances we have seen over the last two decades and provides many opportunities. We believe that the best way to assess what impact it will have is to engage and experiment.
Check out the Journals RSS Feed
Bring together the latest articles and table of contents of SAGE Open into your web page or RSS reader.
Sage Open is an open access publication from Sage. It publishes peer-reviewed, original research and review articles in an open access format. Articles may span the full spectrum of the social and behavioral sciences and the humanities.
Sage Open seeks to be the world’s premier open access outlet for academic research. As such, unlike traditional journals, Sage Open does not limit content due to page budgets or thematic significance. Rather, Sage Open evaluates the scientific and research methods of each article for validity and accepts articles solely on the basis of the research. This approach allows readers greater access and gives them the power to determine the significance of each article through article-level usage metrics. Likewise, by not restricting papers to a narrow discipline, Sage Open facilitates the discovery of the connections between papers, whether within or between disciplines.
Become a Guest Editor in an Open Access Journal
Sage welcomes proposals for new Special Collections in our Gold Open Access journals.
Special Collections are intended to attract high quality articles on topics of current interest in the field of the journal. They should be organized by Guest Editors who are recognized experts in their field.
It is helpful for Guest Editors to have a list of potential contributors already in mind, and reach out to them as soon as possible.
Guest Editor Role and Responsibilities
Submitting Special Collections proposals for Open Access Journals
OA Publishing Options
Sage is a long-term advocate of sustainable open research, we provide easy and innovative publishing routes for authors seeking to build momentum and increase their reach. Join the thousands of academics across the globe who choose us to share their research quickly and widely, and benefit from:
Automatic waivers for eligible authors from lower and middle-income countries
The Gold Route
Sage publishes a rapidly growing list of Gold Open Access journals. All articles are rigorously peer-reviewed retaining the quality hallmarks of the academic publishing process that authors would experience in publishing in any traditional Sage journal. Most Sage pure gold open access journals are supported by the payment of an article processing charge (APC) by the author, institution or research funder of the accepted manuscript. For more detail visit the specific journal websites.
Sage Choice
The Sage Choice program The Sage Choice program offers authors the option to publish their article open access in hybrid Sage subscription journals. It also enables authors to comply with funding body requirements, where publishing research papers open access is a stipulation of funding, while still publishing their article in the hybrid journal of their choice.
The Green Route
In our Green Open Access option you may share the Original Submission or Accepted Manuscript at any time after your paper is accepted and in any format.
For even more information visit our website out more here
The Sage Open Access Portal
The Sage Open Access Portal (SOAP) is an integrated online platform that provides a single portal for authors, consortia, libraries and funders to manage open access publishing across more than 1000 journals published by Sage including titles published on behalf of, or in association with, over 400 societies. Launched in early 2020, the Sage Open Access Portal now supports both Sage Choice, our hybrid OA publishing option for 900+ journals, as well as Sage’s 180+ pure Gold Open Access journals.
Read our SOAP FAQs to learn more about the Sage Open Access Portal or use the following links below for additional user support guides:
Subscribe to Open (S2O) is an approach to converting subscription journals to open access. It is an alternative subscription model which enables libraries to use their collections budgets to support open access publishing. Existing library customers are asked to continue to subscribe every year, and if all subscriptions are renewed, that year’s content is published open access. First introduced by Annual Reviews, S2O has been adopted by a growing number of publishers who have come together in the S2O Community of Practice.
Sage APC Waiver Policy
Corresponding Authors who reside in the countries described by the Research4Life program (both Group A and Group B) publishing in one of Sage’s gold open access journals will automatically receive a full APC waiver without needing to take any action. Additional waiver requests will be assessed on a case-by-case basis.
Discover our Book Content Open Access policy for books published by Sage.
At Sage we are committed to facilitating openness, transparency and reproducibility of research. We support and encourage research data to be shared, discoverable, citable, and recognized as an intellectual product of value.
Funding Open Access Research
Learn more about ways to Fund Your Open Access Research and different types of open access models available through Sage.
APC Waiver Policy
Corresponding Authors who reside in the countries described by the Research4Life program (both Group A and Group B) publishing in one of Sage’s gold open access journals will automatically receive a full APC waiver without needing to take any action. Additional waiver requests will be assessed on a case-by-case basis. Learn more about Sage's APC Waivers Policy here.
OA Agreements
Find out more about Open Access Agreements at Sage including whether your institution has an agreement with Sage.
FAQs
Visit our OA FAQs page to address common questions around open access as well as specific questions regarding Sage's approach to open access.
Open Access Knowledge Base
Visit our OA Knowledge Base to for help and support related to our Open Access publishing.
For Librarians and Institutions
We actively work with national consortia in Europe, and elsewhere, to develop national-level sales deals to help institutions embrace open access publishing. Learn more about our Open Access Prepaid Accounts and our Open Access Agreements.
For Authors
Check out our Open Access Introduction for Authors page!
We are here to help empower you as researchers, from our extensive author service to our diverse portfolio of peer-reviewed open access journals that span across a wide range of STM and HSS disciplines.
Find out which Open Access Collections are currently accepting submission!
Sage Path is a service that helps you quickly and easily find, submit, and get published with the right Sage journal.
The Sage Journal Recommender is a search tool that will help you find a journal based on the subject and content of your manuscript. Enter keywords and the title of your manuscript to search over 1,000 Sage journals and compare those most relevant for your research. Search results can be limited to those participating in Sage Path.
Recent Articles RSS Feed provides both latest articles and articles within Table of Contents