Sage Video EMEA : Instructor

14 tips for improving your online teaching

Designing online courses takes significant time and effort. Here are 14 quick tips to make online teaching better, from online learning expert Kyungmee Lee.

These instructor manuals are designed to aid educators using Sage Video content within their teaching practices with examples of how to teach different topics using the videos in our collections.

Do you want to spark engaging academic discussions with your students? Are you teaching an online course and want to include videos in your learning modules that will not disappear on you? Sage Video offers the following:

• Our editorially curated discipline collections are intended to support key course needs with videos that are mapped to curricula-specific course, programs, and degree outcomes. 
• A multitude of experts and voices contribute to our content including academics, practitioners, and students as well a host of others from a variety of different backgrounds and contexts, including authors and editors from other SAGE resources. 
• A broad range of video types are found within each collection, from documentaries to tutorials and video cases to in-practice footage support teaching and learning at all levels.
• All videos are designed to be incorporated into a variety of different course environments and to be integrated into different LMS.

Did you know that 92% (SAGE Global Surveys, 2014) of faculty use video in class, according to a number of global surveys of faculty across disciplines. With Sage Video you can:

• Stream new educational videos for your class tied to the curriculum
• Create clips of longer videos and save them for your class
• Build playlists of recommended videos for courses
• Embed videos in your BlackBoard or LMS course page
• ​All content in Sage Video can be filtered by subjects within standard course curricula outlined with the discipline-specific collections

Click the images below to access external guides that explain how to embed videos directly into these LMS:

Learn more about how faculty at different institutions have successfully incorporated Sage Video into their course curricula.

With an immense change in higher education, from the flipped classroom to the rise and fall of MOOCs, Sage looks to a myriad of research (along with our own), to understand this change and how multimedia, in particular video, is fitting in and driving learning outcomes for students. As a publisher of academic video, most of which is unique content to Sage, we are vested in creating content to meet the needs of all patrons in this higher education environment and want to ensure our videos will be used and ultimately drive strong learning outcomes for the end user.

Take a look at this video from our Senior Publisher of Sage Video, Michael Carmichael, on “Video and Effective Pedagogy: Learning and Application,” highlighting this research and how Sage has responded as it applies the findings in developing our own video collections to provide the highest quality educational video for faculty, students, and researchers.

16 answers to your questions about teaching online

Sage has drawn from its large body of published and peer-reviewed research to offer this collection of free resources to serve teachers and students around the world.

Business & Management: Globalization: The Rana Plaza Factory Collapse 

Counseling & Psychotherapy: Helping Clients Understand Their Thinking 

Criminology & Criminal Justice: Division Chief: Diversity in Law Enforcement 

Economics: Political Economy of Media 

Education: Inclusive Education 

Leadership: Servant Leadership: Backpacks for Life 

Media, Communication & Cultural Studies: Six Basic Emotions Revealed by the Face 

Nursing: Key Concepts in Nursing Research 

Political Science & International Relations: Comparative Politics: Presidential Systems 

Psychology: Who Do You Want Your Child To Be? 

Research Methods: Dan Chambliss Discusses Social Research 

Social Work: Bringing Change Through International Social Welfare 

Sociology: The Social Construction of Race & Its Function in Contemporary American Society

Visit Sage College Publishing to find additional course materials that match your teaching and instruction needs.

Transitioning to online instruction? These free resources are here to help!

Each of the 15 subject collections contains a multitude of 14 different content types designed to meet the needs of different end users, such as undergraduate students, graduate students, faculty needing video support in their teaching, or researchers looking for content to aid their academic work. Start exploring our video types by clicking on the icons below: