The Penn World Table (PWT) provides relative levels of income, output, input and productivity, with the most recent version (PWT 10.01) covering 183 countries for the period 1950-2019. Its expenditure entries are denominated in a common set of prices in a common currency so that real quantity comparisons can be made, both between countries and over time. It also provides information about relative prices within and between countries, as well as demographic data and capital stock estimates.
Since the regionalization of the United Nations International Comparison Programme (ICP) beginning with the 1980 benchmark, Robert Summers and Alan Heston at the Center for International Comparisons of Production, Income and Prices at the University of Pennsylvania have been using ICP benchmark comparisons as a basis for estimating PPPs (purchasing power parities) for non-benchmark countries and extrapolations backward and forward in time. As of PWT 8.0, the PWT are hosted at the Groningen Growth and Development Centre within the Economics Department of the University of Groningen.
Exploring Penn World Tables in Sage Data
In Data Planet Statistical Datasets, the many indicators included in the Penn World Table datasets can be viewed as stand-alone trends, charts, or maps. The listing of indicators can be viewed by opening the Penn World Tables link under Center for International Comparison of Production, Income and Prices in the Browse by Source section of the indicator tree. For example, the chart below shows change over time in average annual hours worked by engaged worked in Spain and Portugal:
Note that you can learn more about the indicator, dataset, and source by viewing the statistical abstract that appears below the chart, as below. These summaries can be exported with the graph by clicking on the Export link in the menu bar above the chart.
Clink on the links below to view sample DataSheets created in Data Planet Statistical Datasets that provide statistical abstracts complete with infographics of indicators included in the Penn World Table datasets. From the infographic, you can also enter Data Planet to further manipulate the data and explore relationships between these metrics and other indicators in the vast Data Planet repository.
These datasets are just a sampling from Penn World Table 10.01 to give you an idea of the granularity of the available data. Statistics provide evidence of cross-national patterns of social and economic development.
Expenditure-Side Real GDP at Chained PPPs - Shows expenditure-based real gross domestic product (GDP) in millions of 2017 U.S. dollars at chained purchasing power parity (PPP) rates for Argentina, Brazil, and Chile. Expenditure-side real GDP allows comparison of relative living standards across countries and over time.
Output-Side Real GDP at Chained PPPs - Reports expenditure-based real gross domestic product (GDP) in millions of 2017 U.S. dollars at chained purchasing power parity (PPP) rates. Output-side real GDP allows comparison of productive capacity across countries and over time.
Population - Reports population data by country from the World Bank and United Nations sources. Real GDP variables in the Penn World Tables are presented in (millions) of U.S. dollars. The population variable can be used to convert GDP into per-capita terms when relevant.
Number of Persons Engaged - Person engaged is defined in the Penn World Table (PWT) to include all persons aged 15 years and over, who performed work during the reference week, even just for one hour a week, or were not at work but had a job or business from which they were temporarily absent. The chart shows the trend in counts of persons engaged in five European nations
Average Annual Hours Worked by Persons Engaged - Reports average annual hours worked by persons engaged for the same five European nations.
Expenditure-Side Real GDP at Current PPPs - Reports expenditure-based real gross domestic product (GDP) at current purchasing power parity (PPP) rates in terms of the prices in that period (ie, current prices). Expenditure-side real GDP allows comparison of relative living standards across countries and over time.
Output-Side Real GDP at Current PPPs - Reports output-based real gross domestic product (GDP) at current purchasing power parity (PPP) rates in terms of the prices in that period (ie, current prices). Output-side real GDP allows comparison of productive capacity across countries and over time.
Capital Stock at Current PPPs - Reports capital stock levels in terms of the prices in that period (ie, current prices).
Capital Stock at Constant 2017 National Prices - Compares capital stock levels in terms of constant (2017) prices for 10 nations in 2019.
TFP Level at Current PPPs (US=1) Tracks total factor productivity (TFP) levels at constant purchasing power parity (PPP) rates for Bahrain, Qatar, and Saudi Arabia, relative to the US in terms of the prices in that period (ie, current prices). TFP is the portion of output not explained by the amount of inputs used in production.
TFP at Constant National Prices (2017=1) - Reports total factor productivity (TFP) levels at constant prices against the reference year, 2011. TFP is the portion of output not explained by the amount of inputs used in production.
Real GDP at Constant 2017 National Prices - Reports real gross domestic product (GDP) at constant (2011) national prices for South Africa and Nigeria. Real GDP in the Penn World Table means GDP converted to international dollars using purchasing power parity (PPP) rates.
Share of Labour Compensation in GDP at Current National Prices - Compares the share represented by labor income in gross domestic product in terms of the prices in that period (ie, current prices) for Belarus, Lithuania, and Latvia.
Price Level of CDGPo (PPP/XR), Price Level of US GDPo in 2017=1 - Shows the price level of output-based real gross domestic product per capita (CGDPo) at current purchasing power parity (PPP) rates for Malaysia, Singapore, and the Philippines, defined relative to the US in 2017. Expenditure-side real GDP Output-side real GDP allows comparison of productive capacity across countries and over time.
Correlation between Expenditure Shares of the Country and the US - Shows the correlation between expenditure shares in each country and the US for all benchmark observations.
Statistical Capacity Indicator - Provides an index of the statistical capacity of nation based on a scale of 0-100, with 0=weak statistical capacity and 100=high statistical capacity. Statistical capacity is the ability of countries to meet user needs for good quality statistics, typically those statistics that are consider to be “official” (ie, those statistics produced by governments as a public good). The measure is sourced from the World Bank.
Share of Household Consumption at Current PPPs - Compares the share of output-based real gross domestic product (GDP) per capita that is represented by household consumption across five Caribbean nations. GDP is converted using current purchasing power parities (PPPs). Output-side real GDP allows comparison of productive capacity across countries and over time.
Share of Gross Capital Formation at Current PPPs - Compares the share of output-based real gross domestic product (GDP) per capita in Brazzavillle vs Kinshasa that is represented by capital formation (investment), at current purchasing power parities (PPPs). Output-side real GDP allows comparison of productive capacity across countries and over time.
Share of Government Consumption at Current PPPs - Compares the share of output-based real gross domestic product (GDP) per capita that is represented by government consumption, at current purchasing power parities (PPPs), for the United States, Russia, and China. Output-side real GDP allows comparison of productive capacity across countries and over time.
Share of Merchandise Exports at Current PPPs - Reports the share of output-based real gross domestic product (GDP) per capita that is represented by merchandise exports, at current purchasing power parities (PPPs), for India, Pakistan, and Bangladesh. Output-side real GDP allows comparison of productive capacity across countries and over time.
Share of Merchandise Imports at Current PPPs - Reports the share of output-based real gross domestic product (GDP) per capita that is represented by residuals and statistical discrepancies, at current purchasing power parities (PPPs), for India, Pakistan, and Bangladesh. Output-side real GDP allows comparison of productive capacity across countries and over time. Residuals include trade, eg, trade in services. Statistical discrepancy is included to ensure that expenditure-side accounting adds up to GDP in the national accounts data.
Price Level of Government vs Household Consumption, Price Level of US GDPO in 2017=1 - Shows the price level of the share of output-based gross domestic product (GDP) that is represented by government vs household consumption in Vietnam, relative to the price level of output-based GDP in the US, where 2011=1. Output-side real GDP allows comparison of productive capacity across countries and over time.
Price Level of Exports vs Imports, Price Level of US GDPO in 2017=1 - Shows the price level of the share of output-based gross domestic product (GDP) that is represented by exports vs Imports in Thailand, relative to the price level of output-based GDP in the US, where 2011=1. Output-side real GDP allows comparison of productive capacity across countries and over time.
The Penn World Tables are intended to provide a means of comparing nations so be sure to explore the many options available to do so. The chart below shows the trend in output-side real GDP for five South American nations.
Index of Human Capital
About the World Economic Outlook Database
The World Economic Outlook (WEO) database, published by the International Monetary Fund, contains selected macroeconomic data series from the statistical appendix of the World Economic Outlook report, which presents the IMF staff's analysis and projections of economic developments at the global level, in major country groups and in many individual countries. Data and projections for 189 economies form the statistical basis of the WEO database.
The WEO database reflects information from both national source agencies and international organizations. The data are maintained jointly by the IMF’s Research Department and regional departments, with the latter regularly updating country projections based on consistent global assumptions. Most countries’ macroeconomic data presented in the WEO conform broadly to the 1993 version of the System of National Accounts (SNA). Data are available from 1980 to the present, and projections are given for the next two years. Additionally, medium-term projections are available for selected indicators.
About the International Monetary Fund
Headquartered in Washington, DC, the International Monetary Fund (IMF) was conceived at a United Nations conference convened in Bretton Woods, New Hampshire, United States, in July 1944. The 44 governments represented at that conference sought to build a framework for economic cooperation that would avoid a repetition of the vicious circle of competitive devaluations that had contributed to the Great Depression of the 1930s. As of 2015, the IMF has 188 member countries. Its primary purpose is to ensure the stability of the international monetary system, specifically the system of exchange rates and international payments that enables countries (and their citizens) to transact with one other. This system is essential for promoting sustainable economic growth, increasing living standards, and reducing poverty. The Fund’s mandate has recently been clarified and updated to cover the full range of macroeconomic and financial sector issues that bear on global stability. The IMF is a specialized independent agency of the United Nations but has its own charter, governing structure, and finances. Its members are represented through a quota system broadly based on their relative size in the global economy.
Exploring the WEO Database
In Data Planet, the many indicators included in the World Economic Outlook database can be viewed as stand-alone trends, charts, or maps. The listing of indicators can be viewed by opening the International Monetary Fund entries in the Browse by Source and Browse by Subject - International listings in the indicator tree. For example, the chart below shows change over time in the Current Accounts balance of Spain.
Note that you can learn more about the indicator, dataset, and data source by viewing the statistical abstract that appears below the chart, as below. These summaries can be exported with the graph by clicking on the Export link in the menu bar above the chart. The Create DOI link allows you to create a DOI that ensures that each time you reference the data in a paper or elsewhere that the reader can view the exact view of the DataSheet at the time you created it. For more information on DOIs, click here.
The Data Planet Statistical Datasets platform makes it easy for you to compare indicators across nations so be sure to explore the many options available to do so. To select multiple countries, simply click those of interest using the check box. As an example, the chart below compares the trend in Gross Domestic Product per capita for Argentina, Brazil, and Chile:
Clink on the links below to view sample DataSheets created in Data Planet that provide statistical abstracts complete with infographics of indicators included in the International Monetary Fund World Economic Outlook database. From the infographic, you can also enter Data Planet to further manipulate the data and explore relationships between these metrics and other indicators in the vast Data Planet repository. [Note that when you are logged in, you can create an updated version of the DataSheet to view the latest version of the data.]
The indicators below are just a sampling of WEO statistics to give you an idea of the granularity of the available data. There are many more indicators on these topics in the repository - add search terms for agriculture, social and economic development, government, etc. to further explore the database. Contact your library staff for help in formulating your search strategy.
Current Accounts Balance: Shows the current account balance of Bahrain.
Employment and Unemployment: Shows the unemployment rate as a percentage of the labor force in Taiwan.
General Government Revenue: Shows government revenue as a percent of Gross Domestic Product in Poland.
GDP Metrics: Presents Gross Domestic Product per capita in US dollars for Nicaragua and Honduras.
Inflation and Prices: Shows the inflation rate as an index for Greece, Italy, and Portugal.
Investment: Shows total investment in Kenya as a percent of Gross Domestic Product.
Imports and Exports: Shows the trend in percent change of the volume of imports and exports for China.
Government Spending - Hungary
Also consider other visualization options. For example, the chart below maps the unemployment rate as percentage of the total labor force for countries covered by the World Economic Outlook
About Statistics Canada
Established as Canada's central statistical office by the Statistics Act of 1985, Statistics Canada is required to "collect, compile, analyse, abstract and publish statistical information relating to the commercial, industrial, financial, social, economic and general activities and conditions of the people of Canada." Its main objectives are to provide statistical information and analysis about Canada’s economic and social structure and to promote sound statistical standards and practices.
About the StatCan Database
The datasets available in Data Planet represent the data tables released by Statistics Canada. These tables provide aggregate statistics on the Canadian population, and the nation’s resources, economy, society, and culture. In addition to conducting a Census every five years, approximately 350 active surveys are conducted on virtually all aspects of Canadian life. Statistics are provided for the nation as a whole, provinces, and other subnational geographies where available. For information on the statistical surveys and programs conducted by Statistics Canada, click here. The data tables replace the summary tables previously released by Statistics Canada via the CANSIM database. For FAQs on this transition, please visit the Statistics Canada website.
About Canada
A land of vast distances and rich natural resources, Canada became a self-governing dominion in 1867 while retaining ties to the British crown. Economically and technologically, the nation has developed in parallel with the US, its neighbor to the south across the world's longest unfortified border. Canada faces the political challenges of meeting public demands for quality improvements in health care, education, social services, and economic competitiveness, as well as responding to the particular concerns of predominantly francophone Quebec. Canada also aims to develop its diverse energy resources while maintaining its commitment to the environment.
Overview and images provided by The World Factbook 2013-14. Washington, DC: Central Intelligence Agency, 2013.
DataSheet Examples
Total value of greenhouse products in three western provinces
Residential vs nonresidential mortgage dollars held by chartered banks in British Columbia
Single-unit vs multiple-unit housing starts by reporting province
Crime severity index vs Violent Crime Severity Index in Canada
Trend in vehicle registrations of zero-emission vehicles
Counts of immigrants by gender for British Columbia
Operating revenue of the computer systems design industry in Quebec vs Ontario
Number of students in Aboriginal language programs, by province
CPI for food (2002=100) by province
Federal expenditures for science and technology for the natural vs social sciences
Employment income vs government transfer income for persons ages 15 and over, by province
In Data Planet Statistical Datasets, the indicators included in the StatCan database can be examined by nation and province, and by other subnational geographies where available. Time periods available may include month, quarterly, or annual data, depending on the item selected. Browse the available topics in the indicator tree on the left-hand side of the interface or search for precise results using the search box:
Navigate to indicators of interest and create customized visualizations. The chart below compares counts of immigrants employed in Canada by region of origin:
The chart below compares the trend in median donation amount of male vs female tax filers with charitable deductions. This interactive visualization was created using the Data Planet embed feature, which allows Data Planet users to easily capture HTML code that can be inserted into your own web applications. For more detail on the embed feature, visit here.
Below is a heat map of provinces by projected population in 1943:
Compare statistics by province, subprovince, time period, and more! The StatCan data tables offer many opportunities to select detailed variables. Indicators can also be compared to other indicators in the repository. To select multiple indicators, select Compare Datasets in the left navigation pane and make selections in the dataset list to create your comparison:
Keep in mind that the graphs you create do not necessarily imply causality: the results may suggest a potential relationship between the variables you select, which may be an interesting line of inquiry for your own research.
The chart below ranks provinces by count of head of sheep and lamb as of January 1, 2022, based on data from Statistics Canada. Click on the Data Planet logo in the chart below to log into Data Planet to explore the StatCan database further!
In advance of the Millennium Summit convened in September 2000, the Secretary-General presented his report "We the peoples: The role of the United Nations in the twenty-first century" (A/54/2000) in which he identified challenges facing the international community and put forward an action plan for addressing them. The resulting eight Millennium Development Goals (MDGs) – which range from halving extreme poverty rates to halting the spread of HIV/AIDS and providing universal primary education, all by the target date of 2015 – form a blueprint agreed to by 189 of the world’s countries and all the world’s leading development institutions. They have galvanized unprecedented efforts to meet the needs of the world’s poorest. The statistics presented here measure progress toward meeting these goals and are the product of the work of the Inter-agency and Expert Group (IAEG) on MDG Indicators, coordinated by the UN Statistics Division.
Clink on the links below to view sample DataSheets created in Data Planet Statistical Datasets that provide statistical abstracts complete with infographics of indicators included in the Millennium Development Goals datasets. From the infographic, you can also enter to further manipulate the data and explore relationships between these metrics and other indicators in the vast Data-Planet repository.
These examples are just a sampling to give you an idea of the granularity of the available data. There are many more indicators on this topic in the repository - add search terms for countries and other metrics of social and economic development. Contact your library staff for help in formulating your search strategy.
Millennium Development Goal 1: Eradicate Extreme Poverty and Hunger - Target 1.A. : Shows the trend for Zambia in achieving the goal of halving, between 1990 and 2015, the proportion of people whose income is less than one dollar a day.
Millennium Development Goal 1: Eradicate Extreme Poverty and Hunger - Target 1.B : Shows progress in Italy toward achieving full and productive employment and decent work for all, including women and young people. The DataSheet shows the youth unemployment rate for both sexes.
Millennium Development Goal 1: Eradicate Extreme Poverty and Hunger - Target 1.C: Shows dismal progress in the Sudan in meeting the goal of halving, between 1990 and 2015, the proportion of people who suffer from hunger.
Millennium Development Goal 2: Achieve Universal Primary Education - Target 2.A : Shows a measure of the progress achieved in Djibouti in ensuring that, by 2015, children everywhere, boys and girls alike, will be able to complete a full course of primary schooling.
Millennium Development Goal 3: Promote Gender Equality and Empower Women - Target 3.A : Shows the trend in the gender parity index in primary and tertiary enrollment for Vietnam.
Millennium Development Goal 4: Reduce Child Mortality - Target 4.A : Shows progress in reducing by two-thirds the under-five mortality rate in Uzbekistan.
Millennium Development Goal 5: Improve Maternal Health - Target 5.A : Displays progress by Iran in reducing the maternal mortality ratio.
Millennium Development Goal 5: Improve Maternal Health - Target 5.B : Shows the trend in the adolescent birth rate, per 1,000 women, in France.
Millennium Development Goal 6: Combat HIV/AIDS, Malaria and Other Diseases - Target 6.A : Tracks progress in South Africa in halting and beginning to reverse the spread of HIV/AIDS using the metric of the number of children orphaned by AIDS.
Millennium Development Goal 6: Combat HIV/AIDS, Malaria and Other Diseases - Target 6.B : Ranks nations by antiretroviral therapy coverage among people with advanced HIV infection.
Millennium Development Goal 6: Combat HIV/AIDS, Malaria and Other Diseases - Target 6.C : Shows the declining trend in Equatorial New Guinea in the tuberculosis death rate per year per 100,000 population.
Millennium Development Goal 7: Ensure Environmental Sustainability - Target 7.A : Shows the trend in energy use (kg oil equivalent) per $1,000 GDP in the United States.
Millennium Development Goal 7: Ensure Environmental Sustainability - Target 7.B : Tracks percentage of protected terrestrial and marine areas in Uruguay and Brazil.
Millennium Development Goal 7: Ensure Environmental Sustainability - Target 7.C : Shows the proportion of the population using improved drinking water sources in Yemen.
Millennium Development Goal 7: Ensure Environmental Sustainability - Target 7.D : Tracks the declining trend in the slum population as a percentage of the urban population in Bangladesh.
Millennium Development Goal 8: Develop a Global Partnership for Development - Target 8 A : As a metric of developing an open, rule-based, predictable, non-discriminatory trading and financial system, this indicator tracks the percentage of imports from developing countries, admitted duty free, into Argentina.
Millennium Development Goal 8: Develop a Global Partnership for Development - Target 8 D : Displays debt service as percentage of exports of goods and services and net income in Burkina Faso.
Millennium Development Goal 8: Develop a Global Partnership for Development - Target 8.F: Shows internet users and mobile cellular subscriptions per 100 inhabitants in Algeria.
Internet users and mobile cell subscriptions in Algeria
In Data Planet Statistical Datasets, the many metrics tracking progress among the world's nations in meeting the UN Millennium Development Goals can be viewed as stand-alone trends, charts, or maps. For example, the chart below shows progress in eliminating gender disparity in Bolivia, as measured by the trend in the number of seats held by women in the national parliament.
Create a comparison of trends across nations as in the chart below, which graphs the maternal mortality ratio for three South American nations.
Try it yourself with other indicators, such as maternal mortality rates, external debt ratios, and more. To select multiple indicators hold down the control (Ctrl) key when clicking on the second (or third) item of interest in the Indicator tree.
The 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development, adopted by all United Nations Member States in 2015, provides a shared blueprint for peace and prosperity for people and the planet, now and into the future. In establishing the Agenda, member states agreed on 17 Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), which recognize that ending poverty and other deprivations must go hand-in-hand with strategies that improve health and education, reduce inequality, and spur economic growth, while tackling climate change and working to preserve the planet’s oceans and forests. Also recognizing that implementation of the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development required a solid framework of indicators and statistical data to monitor progress, inform policy, and ensure accountability, the SDGs global indicator framework was developed by the Inter-Agency and Expert Group on SDG Indicators (IAEG-SDGs) and adopted by the General Assembly in 2017. It is contained in the Resolution adopted by the General Assembly on Work of the Statistical Commission pertaining to the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development (A/RES/71/313), Annex. A. This framework defines targets for each SDG, and metrics to track global progress toward meeting each target.
For detail on the metadata and data sources of the SDG indicators, visit the UN SDG website.
Clink on the links below to view sample DataSheets created in Data Planet Statistical Datasets that provide statistical abstracts complete with infographics of indicators included in the Sustainable Development Goals datasets. From the infographic, you can also enter to further manipulate the data and explore relationships between these metrics and other indicators in the vast Data Planet repository.
These examples are just a sampling to give you an idea of the granularity of the available data. There are many more indicators on this topic in the repository - add search terms for countries and other metrics of social and economic development. Contact your library staff for help in formulating your search strategy.
Goal 1. End poverty in all its forms everywhere: 1.1.1: Ranking of nations by percentage of employed population ages 15 and over below the international poverty line.
Goal 2. End hunger, achieve food security and improved nutrition and promote sustainable agriculture: 2.1.1.: Prevalence of undernourishment in Sudan and Ethiopia
Goal 3. Ensure healthy lives and promote well-being for all at all ages: 3.1.1.: Compares maternal mortality ratio of Ethiopia, Eritrea, and Sudan
Goal 4. Ensure inclusive and equitable quality education and promote lifelong learning opportunities for all: 4.c.1: Proportion of teachers with minimum required qualifications in India, Nepal, and Pakistan
Goal 5. Achieve gender equality and empower all women and girls: 5.5.2: Proportion of managerial positions held by women in developed vs developing regions
Goal 6. Ensure availability and sustainable management of water and sanitation for all: 6.4.1: Ranking of top 15 countries with respect to Water Use Efficiency
Goal 7. Ensure access to affordable, reliable, sustainable and modern energy for all: 7.1.1: Compares proportion of population with access to electricity in Angola, Botswana, Namibia, and Zambia
Goal 8. Promote sustained, inclusive and sustainable economic growth, full and productive employment and decent work for all: 8.6.1: Proportion of youth ages 15-24 not in education, training, or employment in Belarus, Latvia, and Lithuania
Goal 9. Build resilient infrastructure, promote inclusive and sustainable industrialization and foster innovation: 9.5.1: Ranking of top 15 countries according to research and development expenditure as proportion of GDP
Goal 10. Reduce inequality within and among countries: 10.b.1: Ranks countries by total assistance for development by donor country
Goal 11. Make cities and human settlements inclusive, safe, resilient and sustainable: 11.1.1: Ranking of top 15 countries with respect to proportion of the population living in slums.
Goal 12. Ensure sustainable consumption and production patterns: 12.4.2: Electronic waste collected per capita in three Scandinavian nations
Goal 13. Take urgent action to combat climate change and its impacts: 13.1.1: Ranking of countries by number of people whose livelihoods were disrupted or destroyed that are attributed to disasters
Goal 14. Conserve and sustainably use the oceans, seas and marine resources for sustainable development: 14.1.1: Ranking of country aggregates by percentage of beach litter originating from land-based sources that ends in the ocean
Goal 15. Protect, restore and promote sustainable use of terrestrial ecosystems, sustainably manage forests, combat desertification, and halt and reverse land degradation and halt biodiversity loss: 15.2.1: Percentage of forest area with a long-term forest management plan in four South American nations
Goal 16. Promote peaceful and inclusive societies for sustainable development, provide access to justice for all and build effective, accountable and inclusive institutions at all levels: 16.1.1: Number of victims of intentional homicide per 100,000 population in Australia, the United Kingdom, and United States
Goal 17. Strengthen the means of implementation and revitalize the Global Partnership for Sustainable Development: 17.9.1: Ranking of nations by total disbursement of official development assistance disbursed for technical cooperation
In Data Planet, the many metrics tracking progress among the world's nations in meeting the UN Sustainable Development Goals can be viewed as stand-alone trends, charts, or maps. For example, the chart below shows progress in ensuring access to affordable, reliable, sustainable, and modern energy in Bangladesh, as measured by the trend in the proportion of people with access to electricity in urban vs rural areas.
Create a comparison of trends across nations as in the chart below, which graphs the number of intentional homicides per 100,000 population in four Central American nations. This indicator provides a measure of progress toward meeting Goal 16, "Promoting peaceful and inclusive societies..."