The Claritas Consumer Profiles datasets comprise three different geo-demographic segmentation products: ConneXions®, PRIZM® Premier, and P$YCLE® Premier.
ConneXions, the Claritas segmentation system for communications marketers, classifies US households into 53 consumer segments based on the video, voice, and data purchasing preferences of that household. The ConneXions typology combines the Claritas Lifestage typology—Younger Years, Family Life, and Mature Years—with a proprietary model, Technodoption, that measures the willingness of a household to adopt new technology early in its lifecycle. The Technoadoption levels are defined as High, Mid, Low, and No Tech. Within the three Lifestage classes, the 53 segments are further grouped into 10 Lifestage Groups by combining three variables—Technodoption, householder age, and presence of children at home—to describe the likely lifestyle of the segments in that group.
PRIZM Premier classifies US households into 68 consumer segments based on household purchasing preferences and demographic and socioeconomic characteristics. Segments are defined according to socioeconomic rank, including characteristics such as income, education, occupation, and home value, and are grouped into 11 PRIZM Lifestage Groups and Social Groups. In PRIZM Lifestage Groups, segments are classified as Younger Years, Family Life, and Mature Years, and further into 11 groupings, based on affluence, householder age, and presence of children at home to offer a more robust picture of the consumer. PRIZM Social Groups are based on urbanization class and affluence. Within each of four urbanization class categories—Urban, Suburban, Second City, or Town & Rural—segments are sorted into groups based on affluence. Statistics cover the purchasing behaviors of segments and segment groups with respect to products ranging from apparel, consumer package goods, and financial services to home furnishings and media/technology.
P$YCLE Premier, the Claritas segmentation system for financial marketers, classifies US households into 60 consumer segments based in part on the income-producing assets (IPA) of the household. Within three Lifestage classes—Younger Years, Family Life, and Mature Years—the 60 segments are further grouped into 12 Lifestage Groups by combining three variables—affluence, householder age, and presence of children at home—to describe the likely lifestyle of the segments in that group. A proprietary model, the Claritas Income Producing Assets Indicators model, is used to estimate the liquid assets of a household based on responses to the Claritas Financial Track survey of financial behaviors.
About Claritas
Claritas is a leading provider of intelligent marketing information and target marketing. Pioneering a technique for geo-demographic segmentation in the 1970s, Claritas provides information about people, households, and businesses within any geographic area in the United States. Today, Claritas offers over 60 marketing databases, consumer segmentation systems, consulting services and software applications for site analysis, advertising sales, and customer targeting services.
Finding Premium Datasets by Subject
The Claritas Consumer Profiles database is one of seven premium datasets available in the Data Planet repository. (The others are Claritas Financial and Insurance CLOUT, China Data Institute [subnational data], Data Axle Historical US Business, Data Axle Historical US Residential, Data Axle Historical Canadian Business, EASI Market Planner, and Woods and Poole). For more information on the premium offerings, click here.)
To see if your library subscribes to Claritas datasets via Data Planet, look for Claritas in the Browse by Source index from the home page:
Exploring Claritas Consumer Profiles
In Data Planet, the statistics in the Claritas Consumer Profiles Consumer Counts, Market Potential Index, and Market Penetration indicators are best viewed as ranking charts. For example, to explore which segments have the most consumers that engage in basketball, first select Subject = Sports, which changes the listing of Behaviors to sports-related activities. Use the pop-out to search for basketball:
To view a ranking of segments, use the Rank by options in the center tool bar to select Segment as the rank option:
Click on Rank to return the chart below, which ranks segments by count of adults in a segment who have played basketball in the past 12 months:
As you can see, the chart is very dense—because there are so many segments, it is difficult to easily view them in a single chart. In these cases, consider using Chart Options to limit the number of segments included, for example to the top 10—you might also wish to change the default chart view to one of the other options available:
Click here to view the resulting chart, complete with descriptive information about the dataset used to create it. Data visualizations and summaries can be exported by clicking on the Export link in the menu bar above the chart and selecting the PDF option. The Create DOI link below each chart you create allows you to create a DOI that ensures that each time you reference the data in a paper or elsewhere that the reader can view the exact view of the data at the time you created it. For more information on DOIs, click here.
The implementation of Claritas Consumer Profiler datasets in Data Planet allows you to compare indicators across states, counties, zip codes, and census tracts, so be sure to explore the many options available to do so. For more information on selecting data for viewing, click here.
See the examples in this guide and explore the datasets yourself! Keep in mind that the graphs you create do not necessarily imply causality: the results may suggest a potential relationship between the variables you select, which may be an interesting line of inquiry for your own research.
Claritas: Geographic Distribution of Segments
Create charts of Segment Distributions indicators to explore where the segments you are interested in are concentrated geographically. In the example above, we can see that the "You and I Tunes" segment has the highest ranking in Market Potential for this activity. If you're a retailer of basketball shoes considering how to expand into Maryland, you might be interested in knowing which Maryland ZIP codes have the highest percentage of households engaging in basketball:
Clink on the links below to view DataSheets comprising statistical abstracts complete with infographics of indicators describing demographic characteristics and behavior patterns of US consumers created in Sage Data. Log in to explore the data at even more granularity—as well as relationships between these statistics and other indicators in the vast Sage Data repository.
Claritas Consumer Profiles includes three consumer segmentation systems:
Click on the DOI links below to explore the examples listed. In reviewing the examples below, identify the implications for marketing initiatives. Segment descriptions are linked from the technical documentation that you'll find when you log into Data Planet.
→ Customer counts by behavior help you understand the lifestyle and behavior of a segment:
→ The Market Potential Index helps you estimate customer potential based on the segment penetration rates of a chosen product, service, or lifestyle behavior:
→ Market Penetration shows number of users per 100 households providing an indicator of uptake of consumer products/services/lifestyle:
→ Segment Distributions shows the geographic distribution of a segment(s):
The Claritas Financial and Insurance CLOUT database allows users to identify the potential demand for financial and insurance products and services by geographic area in the United States.
The database has two components:
Financial CLOUT provides geography-based estimates of market penetration and user household dollar volume for more than 100 financial products and services, including basic banking and financial services such as checking, savings, CDs, investments, and insurance products, as well as additional services, such as investment management. The data have been generated using statistical models developed using data gathered from over 150,000 nationwide Claritas Financial Track survey interviews. The robust sample size allows for data modeling at geographic levels from ZIP+4 to national estimates. in the nation. Both current-year estimates and five-year projections are available.
Insurance CLOUT provides geography-based estimates of usage and consumption for over 300 insurance and annuity products and services. Insurance products covered include automobile; life; residential; medical (including supplemental and Medicare supplemental insurance) and vision; accidental death and dismemberment; disability; and long-term care policies. The product also presents channel information, premium information, and consumer attitudes towards insurance. This dataset is generated using statistical models developed from the most current available Claritas Insurance Track survey and Claritas Pop-Facts demographic information. Claritas Insurance Track is an extensive online survey fielded across a national consumer panel of approximately 35,000 households every other year. The robust sample size allows for data modeling at geographic levels from ZIP+4 to national estimates. Both current-year estimates and five-year projections are available.
About Claritas
Claritas is a leading provider of intelligent marketing information and target marketing. Pioneering a technique for geo-demographic segmentation in the 1970s, Claritas provides information about people, households, and businesses within any geographic area in the United States. Today, Claritas offers over 60 marketing databases, consumer segmentation systems, consulting services and software applications for site analysis, advertising sales, and customer targeting services.
Clink on the links below to view DataSheets comprising statistical abstracts complete with infographics of indicators describing demographic characteristics and behavior patterns of US consumers created in Sage Data. Log in to explore the data at even more granularity—as well as relationships between these statistics and other indicators in the vast Data Planet repository.
Financial CLOUT examples:
Insurance CLOUT examples:
Exploring Claritas CLOUT
In Sage Data, the statistics in the Claritas Consumer Financial and Insurance CLOUT indicators may be viewed as ranking, map, and pie charts. Each chart type has options that allow you to customize the visualization. Click on Chart Options in the center tool bar to open a dialog and experiment with options:
The implementation of Claritas Financial and Insurance CLOUT datasets in Sage Data allows you to compare indicators across states, counties, zip codes, and census tracts, so be sure to explore the many options available to do so. To select multiple indicators, hold down the control (Ctrl) key when clicking on the second (or third) item on the indicator tree. For more information on selecting data for viewing, see About Sage Data . The chart below uses data from Claritas Financial CLOUT and the American Community Survey, 5-year estimates, to show estimated count of households that have student loan obligations in relation to estimates of total count of households in 10 states:
You can learn more about the indicator, dataset, and source by viewing the descriptive information that appears below the chart, example below. These summaries can be exported with the graph by clicking on the Export link in the menu bar above the chart and selecting View/Print DataSheet, PDF, or PowerPoint. The Create DOI link allows you to create a DOI that ensures that each time you reference the data in a paper or elsewhere that the reader can view the exact view of the DataSheet at the time you created it. For more information on DOIs, click here.
See additional examples here and create your own using other indicators and geographies. Keep in mind that the graphs you create do not necessarily imply causality: the results may suggest a potential relationship between the variables you select, which may be an interesting line of inquiry for your own research.
The chart below maps Tennessee counties by projected average household balance of households with any Keoghs/HR10s or IRAs in 2026.
