Woods & Poole Economics is an independent firm specializing in long-term economic and demographic projections for the United States by region, Combined Statistical Area (CSAs), Metropolitan Divisions (MDIVS), states, and counties. Detailed demographic projections are provided by gender, single year of age, and by race.
The Complete U.S. Database by Woods & Poole 2024 release provides annual historical and projected estimates of population and economic variables across the US to 2060. All data 2023-2060 are projected. Woods & Poole uses historical data from the Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA) and Census Bureau, both of which are part of the U.S. Department of Commerce, to estimate its projections. Much of the economic projections relies on BEA historical data, including county-level data for employment and earnings. Other sources of data include the decennial censuses, postcensal reports for population and household data, and the quinquennial Census of Retail Trade. Census Bureau population estimates are used as the basis for estimates of single-age, sex, and race projections. Projections are based on regional model and export-base projection methods applied to historical county databases from the BEA and Census Bureau. All other geographic projected estimates are based on those county estimates.
Note that the Complete U.S. Database differs from the Complete Economic and Demographic Data Source (CEDDS), also published by Woods & Poole, Inc., in that in that the Complete U.S. Database has population data by single year of age cross tabulated by sex and by race, comprising more than 1,500 demographic variables. [Certain material used with permission of Woods & Poole Economics, Inc.© 2019 Woods & Poole Economics, Inc. All rights reserved. Historical data are subject to revision and projections are uncertain. Woods & Poole does not guarantee the accuracy of this data. Any and all projections are subject to limitations.]
Clink on the links below to view DataSheets comprising statistical abstracts complete with infographics of indicators describing demographic characteristics and behavior patterns of US consumers created in Sage Data. Log in to explore the data at even more granularity - as well as relationships between these statistics and other indicators available in Sage Data.
In reviewing the samples below, identify the question(s) the data answers for marketing and entrepreneurial initiatives.
Ranking of Florida counties by projected counts of employees in the finance and insurance industries 2023 vs 2060
Trend in counts of households by income bracket in the Washington, DC - Arlington - Alexandria metropolitan area
Compare the trend in Woods & Poole Wealth Index ranking across U.S. regions
Ranking of U.S. states based on median age of the population in 2025 vs 2060
Track the trend in the count of males vs females age 21 in Cuyahoga County, Ohio
Compare projected sales of motor vehicles and parts vs gas station retail sales in the Phoenix- Mesa - Chandler metropolitan area
In Sage Data, the many variables included in the Woods & Poole Complete U.S. Database can be viewed as stand-alone trends, charts, or maps. Open the 2024 instance of the database in the Browse by Source or Browse by Subject listings to explore indicators and variables of interest. For example, the chart below compares actual and projected total retail sales per household in Harris, Dallas, and Tarrant counties of Texas, 1969-2060.
Note that you can learn more about the indicator, dataset, and source by viewing the statistical abstract that appears below the chart, as below.
The "Copy Link to Dataset" that you see at the top left of the image above allows you to capture a link to the same chart that you have created. These links are useful to share with others who have access to Sage Data, such as your professors or fellow students. Use the "Create DOI" link at the top right of the image above to create a link that you can share with anyone. DOIs create a view of the chart and summary and ensures that each time you reference the data in a paper or elsewhere, the reader can view the exact view of the DataSheet at the time you created it. For more information on DOIs, click here.