Books & Reference caters to researchers at all levels, serving as the ideal starting point for mastering essential and emerging methods. The variety of high-quality resources serves as a gateway to the multimedia, video, cases, and datasets collections available across the platform. Users can start their journey with bitesize learning using dictionary definitions, or dive straight in to full reference texts, and then having gained confidence, they can explore what additional collections have to offer.
You can do a quick search across the different content types from the collection page. Books & Reference content is also included in search results on Sage Research Methods and on the Methods Map.
| If you're looking for... | Try |
|---|---|
| A quick explanation of a term or concept | Dictionary or Encyclopedia entry |
| Comprehensive overviews of research methodologies | Whole books (Little Green and Little Blue Books can be especially useful for method overviews) |
| In-depth coverage of a specific aspect of a method | Book chapters that hone in on that topic |
Meet students where they are
Your access to the Books & Reference collection includes the Methods Map, a dynamic search tool that helps users explore connections between methods and key terminologies across the platform.
This can be a useful tool to help users find the exact method and content they’re looking for. A definition of the term appears at the top center of the screen, along with a link to access content. Broader terms appear to the left and narrower terms to the right, so you can easily explore related concepts and content
Project Planner is a step-by-step guide for designing and carrying out a research project. From the philosophy of research itself, to designing a project, to disseminating results, Project Planner contains detailed instructions on every aspect of your project.
Tip: Project Planner includes checklists for key stages that you can apply to your own project
