Skip to Main Content

Sage Research Methods: Collections in Sage Research Methods

SRM Logo

Collections in Sage Research Methods

From the leading publisher in social research methods comes the only resource dedicated to training researchers at all levels. From navigating the research process to the latest techniques in digital and big data research, it’s become a must-have resource for libraries globally, helping researchers to tackle society’s biggest problems.

Select each discipline link below to navigate to further content within Sage Research Methods.

  • Books & Reference
  • Cases
  • Datasets
  • Video
  • Foundations
  • Data Visualization
  • Medicine & Health
  • Doing Research Online
  • Business
  • Diversifying and Decolonizing Research

FAQs

What makes Sage Research Methods unique?

  • Gold-standard original content: Sage is a long-time leader in research methods publishing, from the bestselling Little Green Books to cutting-edge research techniques.
  • Applicable across disciplines: Sage Research Methods covers techniques used across the social sciences, STM, and humanities research. Content ranges from brief introductions to book-length deep dives to provide guidance for all researchers, no matter how experienced.
  • Created for every learning style: Content includes text, case studies, videos, and sample datasets for hands-on practice, ensuring there is something to resonate with every learning modality.
  • Future-focused resources: With annual updates across select collections, we are committed to adding coverage of the latest innovations in research, such as AI and machine learning, as well as including emerging voices from diverse backgrounds.
  • For research with reach: Sound methodology is essential to ensure researchers can impact society with their findings. Sage Research Methods equips researchers with the skills necessary and includes information on publication.
  • Helping you navigate change: With 24/7 unlimited access and helpful tools such as the Project Planner and Which Stats Test, the Sage Research Methods platform can guide users through the research process in hybrid learning environments or when one-to- one help is not available.

Does SRM include the whole of Sage's research methods publishing list?

No, there are many research methods titles not available via Sage Research Methods, including core textbooks.

Titles become eligible to be added to SRM after they have been available in print for more than 12 months. This applies to Little Green and Little Blue books as well.

Reference titles are generally added upon publication, but since we only add content to SRM in January, there can be a few months’ delay after print publication.

How diverse is the content?

The Sage Research Methods team is committed to publishing thought-provoking and authoritative works from scholars around the world. We strive to showcase a diverse range of content and representation of people and populations, as well as types of research, throughout our content. To learn more, read the Sage Research Methods diversity, equity, and inclusion pledge.

Do you have a content update for your collections?

The Sage Research Methods suite is designed to work all together, and includes both static and annually updated collections.

Foundations is the starting point, a static collection of introductory reference entries. Books & Reference, Cases I and Datasets I contain three main content types and each offer a much deeper set of resources to learn methods in detail. Cases II and Datasets II are static and offer an even bigger bank of content for instructors to pull from.

Layering on that, there is a set of closed video collections that zoom in on a very specific topic that’s best illustrated through a visual medium. These are generally topics that don’t require frequent updates as they are quite specific (Data Visualization, for example), but that are reviewed and addressed when major changes happen as and when it's needed.

Finally, the multimedia collections are topical and address current themes that are constantly evolving – hence the need for annual updates to reflect the ongoing conversation.